12 Days of Anime: 2015 Food Edition – Day 12

I’m sure we all saw this one coming… What else could I select as my favorite anime food moment of 2015, other than from the greatest cooking show to come out of this year?

Shokugeki no Souma (Food Wars) was a veritable treat to watch, full of mouth-watering dishes, intense cooking battles, and some truly heartwarming moments. And, while I enjoyed all the battles and spectacularly imaginative dishes that sprung from them, if I had to choose just one dish from this series, my favorite food moment would have to be Megumi’s rainbow terrine!

While our protagonist was undoubtedly Souma, I was really captured by the character of Tadokoro Megumi and her very real struggles to find her own way in the cut throat environment of Toutsuki Culinary Academy. She starts off as hesitant, shy, unconfident in her skills as a chef, and bowed by the pressure of her peers. But, throughout the series, I loved how she gained confidence in herself and her cooking, discovering and harnessing her unique strengths and abilities.

And, unlike Souma, I really saw Megumi as the true underdog of the anime, with her humble family, adorable country accent, and struggles to desperately keep up with her friends and classmates. For much of the series, she follows Souma, in awe of yet inspired by his confidence, skill, and creativity. And, while she’s often in his shadow, we see her gradually begin to trust in her own abilities until she finally gets her own moment to shine in an unofficial shokugeki against a former esteemed Toutsuki alumni and celebrated restauranteur, Shinomiya Kojirou in episodes 11 and 12.

The beautiful rainbow terrine Megumi makes for her shokugeki exemplifies everything that she has learned so far during the series, harnessing her talents, tapping into her past experiences, and displaying her great sense of hospitality towards her diners. She faces her fears and insecurities through this dish, which is her version of the same dish that nearly got her expelled in the first place. It’s Shokugeki no Souma 01an unexpectedly bold move that shows despite her shy and hesitant demeanor, she’s not afraid to bear her teeth when the situation calls for it.

And from there, she only gets stronger and more confident in herself. Megumi’s journey is one that I find significantly more exciting and touching than Souma’s, and one which brought a smile to my face and tears to my eyes more than once. Shokugeki no Souma will be getting a second season in 2016, and I’m really looking forward to seeing where Megumi and Souma go in their food adventures…

And, to finish off, I’ll just leave you with a few of the delectable dishes shown in Shokugeki no Souma… Yum~!

For more images of food from Shokugeki no Souma, check out my tumblr!

Single bite breakfast oden - Shokugeki no Souma 13 Insalata frittata - Shokugeki no Souma 13 - 02 Eggs benedict - Shokugeki no Souma 13 - 02 Purin hot chocolate - Shokugeki no Souma ED Honey black sesame squid - Shokugeki no Souma 04 - 02 Gotcha pork roast - Shokugeki no Souma 01 - 12   

So, there we have it… The 12 Days of Anime have come to a close! Thanks for taking the time to drop by and relive some of my favorite anime food moments of the past year with me! Wishing you all warm wishes for a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, and here’s hoping your 2016 is even more delicious than your 2015!

What was your favorite dish from Shokugeki no Souma?

What were your top food moments of 2015 (anime, real life, or otherwise)?

6 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime: 2015 Food Edition – Day 12

  1. I marathoned it awhile ago, and that scene is definitely a noteworthy one 🙂 It’s kinda interesting how the anime chose Megumi to be the underdog of the story and not Souma. The only troubles that Souma actually had is during that time where had to rely on live cooking.

    Like

    • Yea, I really found Megumi to be the more interesting character, though perhaps Souma was more exciting/theatrical to watch during the actual cooking bits…. I hope Souma develops a little bit more in season 2 so that I can feel as attached to him as I did to Megumi!

      Like

  2. Hi Miss Variance,

    Hello! I really think Souma and Megumi are a cute couple…for some strange reason, she reminds me of someone I met in real life….I also have a cousin who went to culinary school and became a dietician (or rather, is becoming).

    I saw some clips on YouTube. They are great. So…I think he will develop more in Season 2, Souma, I guess.

    I didn’t know terrine was popular in Japan! Man, that looks like one elegant dish…
    Hey, if there was one (or rather, more than one) non-japanese book or series (not a manga, visual, or light novel) that you could adapt into an anime, what would it be? Just asking you…hey, that might be a great idea for a post.

    Like

  3. Pingback: 2015 Anime Season: Year in Review | Itadakimasu Anime!

Leave a Reply

