12 Days of Anime: 2015 Food Edition – Day 1

Bento - Classroom Crisis 01We’re kicking off the 12 Days of Anime with a fun topic, one that always manages to bring a smile to my face whenever I see it shown in anime… I’m talking, of course, about the ever ubiquitous bento that seemingly pops up in every anime ever made.

Not that I’m complaining… I always love seeing those boxes full of a beautifully arranged assortment of delicious foods. It’s such a treat to get a glimpse at what our favorite characters are eating for lunch, and to honor that, our first day of the 12 Days of Anime will be an anime bento retrospective of boxed lunches from 2015!

Fancy Japanese style bento - Bonjour Koiaji Patisserie 13And, what’s my pick for the most beautiful bento of the year? I’m going to say the bento in Bonjour Koiaji Patisserie, specifically episode 13. In this episode, the three male leads showcase their bento-making skills with three gorgeous and extravagant bento, each with a different theme. What I would have done to eat them all…

I‘d also like to mention the various bento showcased in Koufuku Graffiti and Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu! They were also really lovely, with the former being mostly fancy, special occasion bento (for sharing with friends, like at ohanami/flower viewing, or sports day), while the latter was more casual and ordinary like a bento you might eat just on a normal basis.

So, what was your favorite anime bento of 2015?

And, let’s not ignore the other bento that popped up in anime this year. Below is just a tiny sample of the bento that were featured in various anime in 2015…. They’re all so beautiful!

Rice anko bento - Koufuku Graffiti 04 Bento sandwiches karaage - Bonjour Koiaji Patisserie 13 Bento kabocha - Shirobako 09 Bento meatball potato salad apple tamagoyaki - Yuri Kuma Arashi 01 Karaage bento - Shirobako 18 Bento tako weiners onigiri chicken karaage hamburger steak tamagoyaki chikuwa potato salad - Koufuku Graffiti 08 - 05

For more images of bento in anime, check out my tumblr!

3 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime: 2015 Food Edition – Day 1

  1. I haven’t really thought about it really.. what my favorite anime bento is I mean 😛

    It would have to be one full of rice I guess. I can eat white rice all day, it’s just too good. Also, one that doesn’t have sushi. Not a fan of it honestly…

    I bet one from Soma in food wars would be yummy.

    Like

    • If you like rice, maybe you would like an onigiri (rice ball) bento!

      As for Souma from Food Wars making a bento, I fell like it could go either way… you’d either get the best bento ever, or the most disgusting, peanut butter grilled pickled squid concoction! 😛

      Like

  2. Oh gosh! These are the most beautiful bento I’ve ever seen in anime. I’ve always liked bento in anime which is why I started to watch videos on how to make them on YouTube.

    PS: I’m glad to have found your blog. I’m also participating in the 12 Days of Anime on my blog. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

